Weekend Baking: Whole Wheat Chia and Flax Seed Buttermilk Bread


Phew, that recipe is a mouthful! That’s also a bad pun, my apologies. Last week was an absolute whirlwind. Between writing an intense paper on women and the industrialization of the food system (I think I’ve exhausted this topic by now), catching up on readings, and running around for NYU’s Earth Week, OH and very slowly recovering from a sinus infection/cold thing, my apartment turned into an absolute disaster by Sunday night (which also accurately reflected my well-being). Good news is, today is a gorgeous sunny day and the high is supposed to be 78 degrees. Albeit, I’m stuck in the office all day 9-5, the mere thought of sunny-78-degree-weather is nonetheless exciting.

Before I get to the recipe, I just wanted to share two things: Harney and Sons Royal Wedding Tea and the Atlantic’s Food Summit.

First, Harney and Sons. My good friend Meg, fellow Slow Fooder and tea enthusiast, turned me on to yet another wonderful Harney and Sons creation: Royal Wedding Tea. Considering my half-English heritage (father = born and bred English punker turned Los Angeles cruiser), I love all things English. Although I can’t really identify with the royal-family-fanatic-camp, I have to admit a slight affection for the whimsy of the Royal Wedding.

Meg and I can’t figure out if the Harney and Sons tea is specifically celebrating THE Royal Wedding, or if it’s celebrating royal weddings in general, but we love it either way. Royal Wedding tea is a delicious white tea with almond, coconut, vanilla, with pink rosebuds and petals. It only comes in a 30-sachet tin (I much prefer loose tea, so the sachets are kind of a bummer), but the tin is SO decorative and delicate that I’m ok with sachets, just this once.

And now on to academia, of sorts. Today is the Atlantic magazine’s Food Summit. As part of their “Intelligence Series,” the summit is an all day forum that will explore various food-related topics such as consumer behavior, health and nutrition, and sustainable agriculture. Alice Waters is the keynote speaker for the event, and is giving her presentation at 1:45. You can watch a live-stream of the summit here!

And now, the recipe. I used-up all my leftover buttermilk and some various seeds and what not we have lying around our kitchen. We have SO MANY chia seeds. Last year, Noah mailed me a FIVE POUND BAG of chia seeds. Why? Who knows. I ask myself this every time I open my baking pantry and see three pasta sauce jars full of chia seeds, and for some reason we keep finding the tiny black seeds scattered throughout our bed. I try to use chia seeds in just about every recipe, but you can easily replace the seeds with any other mix-in you like! Sesame seeds, wheat germ, sunflower seeds, dried fruit, etc. This is a great, really quick, no-knead, no-rise, recipe for a delicious and hearty morning bread. Enjoy!


Whole Wheat Chia and Flax Seed Buttermilk Bread
Makes one loaf

Ingredients
1 cup white flour
2 cups whole-wheat flour
3 tbls. flax seed
2 tbls. chia seed
1 tbls. brown sugar
1 tsp. salt
1 tsp. baking soda
2 cups buttermilk

Preparation
1. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F. Butter and flour a standard bread pan.
2. Sift the flours, sugar, baking soda, and salt into a large bowl. Add the seeds or other mix-ins and whisk to combine.
3. Slowly add the buttermilk and mix well. This is a very sticky dough, so don’t be discouraged if it’s tough to handle! I actually rinsed out the inside of my buttermilk carton and poured the residue into the dough to make it even stickier.
4. Pour the dough into the bread pan and flatten as best you can with the spatula. Bake for 40-50 minutes, until the top is golden brown and a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean. It should also make a hollow sound when you tap the bottom of the pan.

2 Comments on “Weekend Baking: Whole Wheat Chia and Flax Seed Buttermilk Bread”

  1. ricekernel says:

    I have a huge bag of chia seeds as well! Can’t wait to make this. Thank you for the recipe and inspiration.

  2. flax hulls says:

    Ola! Legumeloyalist,
    Cool Post, No bake cookie recipes are great for a fast and easy dessert. They are perfect for last minute entertaining idea or simple convenient snacking treats.
    Keep up the posts!


Leave a Reply

