Currently Cooking… Potato Leek Soup

You think I would have learned my lesson after the first soup disaster. But of course, with the curried-butternut squash stains only just starting to fade from my kitchen walls, what do I do but attempt to puree a soup without an immersion blender once again.

Although my walls are free of soup stains, my attempts at mashing with a heavy soup spoon have instead left me with burns on my face, specifically my eyelids (ouch!). Of course, Noah came to the rescue AGAIN after hearing my screaming and cursing. As I iced my eye, I begrudgingly watched him finish the job; he wouldn’t let me near the soup again this time around.

Now I’m definitely buying a immersion blender. Burn notwithstanding, this soup is seriously delicious.

Potato Leek Soup
Serves 4-5

Ingredients:
4 large leeks, cleaned, trimmed and thinly sliced
3 tbls. butter (or butter substitute)
4 large yellow potatoes, chopped into 1-inch cubes
1 tsp. salt
1 bay leaf
3 cups veggie broth
a few grinds of pepper to taste
2 cups of soy milk

Preparation:
1. Heat butter in a large soup pot over med-low heat. Saute leeks until soft.
2. Add potatoes, salt, pepper, stock and bay leaf. Bring to a boil then turn down the heat and simmer for 40 minutes.
3. Once the potatoes are uber soft, turn the heat off and PUREE (not mash with a heavy spoon).
4. Add the milk and reheat to your preferred temperature.

Leave a Reply

