Currently Cooking… Salsa and Kidney Bean ‘Burgers’

When I say I don’t miss hamburgers at all, what I mean is  I don’t miss that very specific savory-greasy-hamburger patty taste, but I do love the ketchupy-sweet-carby flavor profile of burgers beyond the meat. They’re definitely not a ‘pretty’ food, often leaving me with child-like ketchup stains in the corners of my mouth. But even if burgers don’t pass approval for dainty aesthetics, they’re definitely good for the soul.

I’m pretty grossed-out by the ‘meaty’ texture of most of the supermarket and restaurant offerings. So when my boyfriend suggested this recipe for homemade veggie patties, I was excited by the different whole-vegetable flavors and textures. If I’m going to eat a veggie burger, I don’t want it to have processed textured-vegetable anything, just good ol’ veggies.

Salsa and Kidney Bean ‘Burgers’
{adapted from the Fix-it and Enjoy-it! Healthy Cookbook}
Makes 6 burgers

Ingredients:
16-oz can of red kidney beans, rinsed, drained, and mashed
1/2 cup red onion, chopped
half a green bell sweet pepper, finely chopped
2/3 cup of salsa
1 cup bread crumbs
1/2 cup whole wheat flour
a few grinds of pepper
and a sprinkle of chili powder

Preparation:
1. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees and prepare a baking sheet with enough parchment paper to cover.
2. Combine all the ingredients in a bowl. If the mixture is too wet, add more flour; if it’s too dry, add more salsa.
3. Form the mixture into 6 4-inch balls and flatten them slightly into patties. Bake for 15 minutes, or until they’ve browned off.
4. Throw ’em on some buns with a thick slice of cheddah and dig in!

Leave a Reply

