A Moment in Gramercy

A pumpkin, three Honeycrisp apples, a bunch of kale, a loaf of bread, two ears of sweet corn, a handful of cranberry beans, two large carrots, and a 1/2 gallon of apple cider. These were the things I was carrying home from the farmers’ market in Union Square, which is the closest greenmarket to Gramercy. As I was walking on 17th street between Park and 3rd avenues, I noticed a man blatantly laughing at me. My curiosity surpassed my sense of acceptable social interaction:

“What?!” I asked, laughing back at him.

“You’re not sharing that with anyone!” I looked down at my arms and realized I was cradling my cider.

“No, I guess I’m not!”

Stone Ridge Orchard makes my favorite apple cider, but at $7.50 a gallon, no I’m not going to share it with anyone.

Leave a Reply

