A Spot of Tea to Hold You Over

It’s been over a month since I’ve written anything on this ‘ol thing, so I’m well overdue for a new post. I’m currently running around the English countryside with some English family, and actually enjoying all of the food, contrary to the worried send-offs I’d received. I’ve yet to eat “haggis” (realistically though, I never will), but I’ve enjoyed literally every meal I’ve had so far.

“Crumpet” is a silly word, no doubt about it, but it is definitely a delicious snack, and it’s one of my most distinct gastronomic memories of England from my last trip over 4 years ago. It’s difficult to describe the texture of a crumpet – we’re familiar with its American counterpart, the “English muffin” – but the crumpet is more dense, rich, and flavorful. Instead of me attempting to digitally describe the crumpet all the way from Hertsfordshire, England, how about you just make them yourself and let me know what you think.

I was really pleased to find this recipe for crumpets with fruit curd while I was catching up on my missed Design Sponge posts. I haven’t tried it myself, but it’ll be the first thing I bake once I’m back in my New York apartment on Sunday. Yum!

Leave a Reply

