The Soy Standoff

Silk Soy has for a long time graced the shelves of my suburban fridge. However, my shift to urban student life opened my eyes to the endless soy choice of Whole Foods and Trader Joe’s. After realizing the vast variety of cheaper soymilk providers, I began to doubt the glossy, over contrived cartoon of Silk pompously erect in my mini fridge. 

Drinkers of soy seeking to decrease their carbon footprint and increase their moral standing in the food policy market may be shocked to find that Silk’s soy beans come primarily from Brazil and China where worker conditions leave more to be desired. Not only is Silk robbing the struggling American farmer of their dignity and money, Silk is simultaneously encouraging bad habits within the distributing world, while catering to our desire for ethical food choices. 

Distributors aside, another problem with soy is that it is one of America’s top four monocrops – meaning it is generally produced on a large, single crop field – meaning it uses copious amounts of fertilizer. But most importantly, a lot of our domestic soy is produced by genetically modified seeds, thank you agri-giant Monsanto Yuck. I’ll save the GM rant for another late night. 

Choosing ethical soy is even harder considering Monsanto and other GM producing companies are resisting labeling products containing GM ingredients. So until the Supreme Court settles its feathers, we’ll be ignorant of what type of soy we are gulping into our gastro. 

One of the strangest consequences of excess soy consumption is the oft-rumored decreased sperm count in men. I should probably tell my boyfriend this, although an article featured on Emax Health claims to bust this myth based on the fertility of long-time soy consuming societies, like those of soy joyous Asia. But a lone, hopeful interpretation of an infamous study will not alleviate the alarming rumor’s momentum. Until Mythbusters takes this challenge, I will consider a cut back in my sweetie’s soy. 

Because of the soy quandary, I have been reduced to buying Almond milk until I can figure out a way to make the stuff myself, which is surprisingly simple but time consuming. 

Once again, thank you despotic agri-biz for continuing to limit my already diminished diet. 

Leave a Reply

